// you’re reading...


Obama Wins Guam

BREAKING NEWS 8:50 a.m. – Obama wins Guam caucus

By Brett Kelman • Pacific Daily News • May 4, 2008

8:50 a.m. — When all of the ballots were finally counted — a process that lasted through the night until well after the sun was up — Sen. Barack Obama had the most votes from Guam Democrats in the party’s caucus held yesterday.

Obama finished with 2,264 votes to Sen. Hillary Clinton’s 2,257 votes – a 7-point difference. Obama never trailed from the first vote count on.

Obama won 14 of 21 districts. Most districts that were won by Clinton were by small margins.

Obama got 37 votes in Ordot, 19 in Maina, 151 in Inarajan, 46 in Asan, 55 in Chalan Pago, 87 in Santa Rita, 102 in Mongmong-Toto-Maite, 28 in Hagåtña, 158 in Barrigada, 36 in Merizo, 49 in Piti, 131 in Sinajana, 108 in Agana Heights, 194 in Mangilao 192 in Tamuning, 27 in Umatac, 76 in Talofofo, 224 in Yigo, 104 in Yona, 127 in Agat and 313 in Dededo for a total of 2,264 votes.

Sen. Hillary Clinton took 18 votes in Ordot, 22 in Maina, 87 in Inarajan, 33 in Asan, 87 in Chalan Pago, 73 in Santa Rita, 81 in Mongmong-Toto-Maite, 29 votes in Hagåtña, 166 in Barrigada, 33 in Merizo, 51 in Piti, 89 in Sinajana, 105 in Agana Heights, 155 in Mangilao, 193 in Tamuning, 24 in Umatac, 52 in Talofofo, 211 in Yigo, 98 in Yona, 141 in Agat and 509 in Dededo for a total of 2,257 votes.

In the race for chairman/vice chairman, the team of Pilar Lujan/Jaime Paulino won the positions with 416 votes. Joseph Artero Cameron and Arlene P. Bordallo tallied 317 votes, while the team of Antonio Charfauros and Mary Ann Cabrera finished with 142 total votes.

To view a photo gallery of yesterday’s Democratic caucus, go to http://www.guampdn.com/apps/pbcs.dll/gallery?Avis=M0&Dato=20080503&Kategori=NEWS01&Lopenr=503004&Ref=PH.

To watch a video on the Democratic caucus, go to http://www.guampdn.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20080503/VIDEO/80503018/-1/FRONTPAGE.


Comments are disallowed for this post.

Comments are closed.